ask a seminarian/ chaplaincy student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ask a seminarian/ chaplaincy student

(Because why not? These threads are fun and enlightening.)

I'm currently in my second year (of three) of a Masters of Divinity program at the Unitarian Universalist Starr King School for the Ministry. I'm studying to be a chaplain, and SKSM lets me be my Pagan self while learning about chaplaincy skills and about other religions so that I'll ultimately be as prepared as a n00b can be when I start walking into hospital/hospice rooms.

What is seminary? What do you do there? Who goes there? Wait, you're a Pagan in seminary? What about Cherry Hill? What does ordination mean anyway? Ask away!

Re: ask a seminarian/ chaplaincy student

So ... What are your feelings about being asked to do a bris? ... ... Me, I don't think I could ...
    I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them ... John Bernard Books

Indian Chief 'Two Eagles' was asked by a white government official; "You have observed the white man for 90 years. You've seen his wars and his technological advances. You've seen his progress, and the damage he's done."

The Chief nodded in agreement.

The official continued; "Considering all these events, in your opinion, where did the white man go wrong?"

The Chief stared at the government official for over a minute and then calmly replied.. "When white man find land, Indians running it, no taxes, no debt, plenty buffalo, plenty beaver, clean water. Women did all the work, Medicine Man free. Indian man spend all day hunting and fishing; all night having sex."

Then the chief leaned back and smiled; "Only white man dumb enough to think he could improve system like that."

Comment

[quote author=magusjinx link=topic=1354.msg27396#msg27396 date=1294450783]