Sabbats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sabbats

I am still a newbie and I know this might be a silly question but I was wondering if you don't follow a certain pagan path do you have to celebrate all the sabbats and esbats? Oh another question can you celebrate other days that have special meaning to you.
    "Everyone and everything around you is your teacher." -- Ken Keyes Jr.

Re: Sabbats

No you don't. As a Heathen I'm still a Pagan but we technically don't do any of the Sabbats although some look superficially similar (Yule for example). It depends entirely on the type of paganism you practice which holidays you celebrate. I would imagine if the 'wheel of the year' were important to you it would be better not to leave a gap in it, but there are plenty of Pagans who don't follow the wheel of the year pattern of celebrations. Lots of Pagans and Heathens mark Armastice Day (Nov 11th) and it's clear from the Valentines Day thread that some Pagans use that as an opportunity to celebrate the love in their lives. Certain Pagan paths will have particular requirements but if you're not following one of these then it's really up to you.
    You can find some of my creative writing at http://libbyscribbles.com

Comment

I agree with Maythe, It is up to you.
      While I celebrate, in my own way, the Solstices and Equinox's , the other holidays I can take or leave. I love Samhain(Halloween), but Imbolc is less important to me.

If there is a day that is special to you, then celebrate it!
      Life is too short to get hung up on all the silly rules...enjoy!
      (now if you are part of a coven, I am sure that they have rules and requirements that you should probably follow )
      What you see depends on what you are looking for.

Comment