This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Regarding Runes

First, please pardon my probably silly question. I am very new to the pagan path and have alot to learn.
    If my studies thus far I have come across 2 types of runes.
    "witches" Runes and the larger set of what look like Norse Runes.
    Can anyone tell me the origins of these runes? Are they simply magical symbols or are the same symbols use in ancient norse writings? TY

Re: Regarding Runes

I'm not an expert on this, but from what I've seen/heard/read there is some controversy as to whether Norse runes were ever used for anything other than inscriptions.
    Every moment of a life is a horrible tragedy, a slapstick comedy, dark nihilism, golden illumination, or nothing at all; depending on how we write the story we tell ourselves.

Comment

There are also Anglo Saxon Runes - some of these were used for inscriptions while others made their way into the English language to represent sounds not covered by the Roman/Latin alphabet. There are more Anglo-Saxon runes than in say, the Elder Futhark. And it's important to mention that the Runic poems (of which there are several) never specifically deal with the Elder Futhark which has to then 'borrow' meanings from the range of Rune poems. Personally I use the runes a lot - especially the anglo-saxon ones.
      www.thewolfenhowlepress.com

Phantom Turnips never die.... they just get stewed occasionally....

Comment

Can you show us a link to the 'witches' runes? I suspect a lot of things have been given this title in recent years so they could be anything. I thought rune meant a rhyme in Scotland so I have always just thought a 'witches rune' was the chanting some do to raise energy (commonly a wiccan thing but some other types of witch will do it too). The Gardnerian Book of Shadows even has The Witches' Rune, which is indeed a poetic kind of chant.