X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to this path... any advice?

Hi. A little background:

I grew up in a Christian family. So much so. My grandfather is a Bible pastor, over half of my uncles are ordained pastors, as is my Dad. My parents are missionaries overseas, and most of my extended family are as well.

I used to be very "Christian". By that, I just mean that I used to believe in it. But I never completely understood. And the more I studied other religions, the more I saw how similar they are. Even within stuff like paganism and the craft.

But... I was always told that it's "just how it is" and that Christianity was the right path.

I started to study other paths, and found that the ideologies of paganism, particularly Wicca and/or Druidism, appeal to me. I believe in the duality of everything, in nature as well as in the spiritual world. I am in college, 19 years old... and so am now able to truly be free and study and believe what I wish to.

I'm not sure if I believe in deities, but I believe in spirits. If that makes sense. I view deities as these beings that are above everything else and control the world... but spirits and spiritual beings are just like human beings and animals and such... but in a different form. I believe in energies and when it comes to using the spirits to change things, it's more of requesting them to use what they are capable of in order to benefit me, and then I use what I'm capable of to benefit them. More of a "friendship" or mutual beneficiaries and being in tune with everything around me than praising and worshipping deities. And that perhaps what a lot of those "deities" are are actually just those spiritual beings that are more "present" than others.