Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone here practice Traditional Witchcraft?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone here practice Traditional Witchcraft?

I am still new to all of this but I was wondering if anyone has any advice on learning traditional witchcraft? To me it seems that is just something that is passed on, a family tradition.

Re: Anyone here practice Traditional Witchcraft?

Hi there Serene!

You get a lot of authors that seem to talk about family history without much to back it up. That said, I hope Tylluan Penry sees this, because I'm fairly sure she would have some helpful words on the matter.
    Great Grandmother's Kitchen

Comment

Thanks Dez! Yes, I do come from a family of witches, but to be honest it's about as meaningful as coming from a family of human beings - don't let anyone tell you differently. There is a lot of nonsense talked about it, often by people who are trying to claim they are a lot more powerful than they really are.

In my own example, I came from a family that did nothing but hex. If it moves, hex it, seemed to be their motto. And as I grew up, I didn't like it, so I left and struck out on my own path whihc I called 'Seeking the Green.' I'd like to think that it was a well defined path from the outset, but I would be kidding myself. A lot of the time (in the early days) was spent going round and round in circles.

But I stuck it out, and I also learned a lot about psychic self defence because one thing about some family traditions is that they're a bit like the Mafia - you can't really leave. But I did, and I survived (with many a tale to tell) and nowadays I tend to describe myself as a witch to distinguish myself from wiccans. I don't go along with the whole 'An it harm none' thing, basically. There are times - rare, but they do exist - when I will hex. And I am also perfectly willing to pick up the tab if it all goes pear-shaped.