The Goddess Freyja

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Goddess Freyja

So, I'm new to this whole identifying with a Deity thing, I've never done it before. However, recently Freyja has really been calling to me. I've done a little research on the tinterwebs but I'm not entirely sure where to start looking.

Things I know about her:
    She has a cloak that enables her to use falcon wings
    Her familiars are cats (some websites i've found said they were grey?)
    She was originally depicted as the quintessential house wife, but somewhere along the lines Frigga took over that title
    She is a member of the Vanir (which i need to delve into more)
    She and Odin split the slain at the end of a battle and half went with Odin to Valhalla and the other half went with Freyja.

And thats about all I can find, its pretty much similar info in the web pages ive looked at, just worded differently.

So, can anyone point me in the direction of links, books, or somewhere I can find some more information so i can start to wrap my head around her?

Re: The Goddess Freyja

Freya is the sister of Freyr and is more about what womenhood is before marriage to me. She is fertility, beauty, strong and very strongly tied to battle and magic. She is assocaited with cats and Amber (it's said she cries Amber tears for her lost love). She wears a one of a kind, beautiful necklace made by the dwarves who she slept with to get it.

To me she is being sure of yourself, comfortable with your sexuality, strongly expects you to practice your witchcraft if you are into that. It's thought she worked with Odin on the runes so they can be learned to honor her as well. I usually make tea offerings to Holda and Frigga but I like to give Freya alcohol. She's about learing about oneself, sexuality and magic. She also expects you to stand up for yourself and say what you mean.

Comment