History, Archaeology and Belief

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

History, Archaeology and Belief

I was just wondering how people work with their concepts of the Graeco-Roman Gods. How do you construct your belief? Is it a modern personal relationship and if so how? Do you read history books or books like Robert Graves The Greek Myths or do you actually consider Archaeological finds and take a reconstructionist approach? If so how much of your ritual is determined by the archaeology and what poetic licence do you take?

I'm a final year classics student and personally, the more I learn, the more I find my ways of worship and concept of the Gods becoming more solidified and I am tempted to rail against that.

Thoughts?

Re: History, Archaeology and Belief

I use myths as the launching point for flights of the imagination.

But I understand your feelings about Graves. As a historian, he's... uhm... unreliable. He used his version of history to prove his version of history.
    Every moment of a life is a horrible tragedy, a slapstick comedy, dark nihilism, golden illumination, or nothing at all; depending on how we write the story we tell ourselves.

Comment

History plays a big role in the rituals that it can. Certain thing, specifically those concerning Dionysus, are based more off from UPG and my interpretation of the myths. I also tend to look at the ecstatic religions and rituals we know more about. For example a lot of my Dionysian rituals are inspired by Freyr, Freya and seidhr. I've been blessed with a multitude of Heathen and seidkona friends.

Comment

Originally posted by Claude View Post