X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attention Homebrewers!

Hello all!

I have been brewing my own beer for about 6 or 7 years now and I've always done extract brews. Well, I just finished building my first Mash/Lauter Tun (MLT) to start doing single infusion all grain brewing.

I'm curious how many other brewers are a part of this little community, and of those who has ventured into the world of all grain brewing. Please let me know what your experiences with brewing have been and whether you've done an all grain recipe, and what recipe you recommend for a first try with my new MLT.

Of course I have grand dreams of building my own RIMS system ... so if you have any experience or suggestions there, I'd love to hear them.

Re: Attention Homebrewers!

Congratulations on making the step! You will definitely be rewarded but I must warn you that it is a deep rabbit hole :-)

I have a long term project on the go around scratch brewing. This is where grain brewers eventually end up before the event horizon lol!

Scratch brewing is the practice of making great beer where you make all the ingredients from scratch.
    This means growing, harvesting, and processing the hops.
    It means growing the barley, malting it and crushing it.
    It means ultimately capturing and raising wild yeast strains.

I am actively acquiring barley varieties that existed in Victorian times, and even pre-industrial era. I started two varieties last summer, and have acquired a third from a gene bank.

Since I'm doing that, I decided to accompany the growing activities with ancient grains and have 5 old wheat varieties under resurrection.

As far as all grain brewing goes, I would highly recommend two books:
    The New, Complete Joy of Home Brewing by Charlie Papazian
    Brewing Great Beers by Ray Daniels.

The first one is a great read and will inspire and educate you on technique.