The Gods with time/destiny?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Gods with time/destiny?

I've been looking into Asatru tradition recently and I'm enjoying reading about it, though I'm still new to many aspects. I recently read into Loki's lore a bit and it led to a few questions.

The Lokesenna lore states from what I understand that as a result of Baldur's death, Loki is bound beneath to a serpent whose venom causes him great pain from now until Ragnarok, doesn't this mean he's impossible to approach/seek as he's essentially imprisoned?

I'm taking the Edda and history of the gods fairly literally in my research and this turned me away slightly, I want to know what people think; with everything destined to happen to the Gods now and at Ragnarok are the Gods following a set course? Are Loki and Baldur unapproachable or are the Gods less affected by time and this destiny?
    Also as a side note, how inevitable do people view Ragnarok? Would it really be all Loki's doing?

Hopefully you guys understand the questions, I can't really phrase them in a way that makes perfect sense >.<
    Work hard Play hard.
    What is history?

Re: The Gods with time/destiny?

depending on who you ask it wasn't killing balder, but pissing off the gods at a feast which led to his imprisonment. not that it matters, chained is chained nomatter how he got there I've actually wondered kind of the same thing lately (you're not the only one reading up on the norse myths)... But I don't take it as literally... it's not like he's physically chained somewhere... I think it's kind of the same with the other gods. some people approach the young odin - there was a time before he lost his eye and learned the runes, some approach the old... So time doesn't seem to be the same. I have no idea I'll be looking in to see what people who know more have to say about it.
    You remind me of the babe
    What babe?
    The babe with the power
    What power?
    The Power of voodoo