Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How did you find this path?

...or maybe "it" found you.

Just wondered how you got into Heathenism, Odinism or Asatru etc?

Re: How did you find this path?

I always liked, and knew a little bit about Norse mythology. It was like

fan_of_norse_mythology_by_red_ipod-d5jdbrj.jpg
    śivāya vishnu rūpaya śivaḥ rūpaya vishnave
    śivasya hridayam viṣṇur viṣṇoscha hridayam śivaḥ

Comment

I first started practising an earth based neo-paganism in university in a casual sort of way. I studied anglo saxon lit at uni and personally studied the norse myths at this time. Then over the years I met some heathens (both in real life and online - particularly on the previous incarnation of this forum where I was a lot more active). I started to move towards a hard polytheistic belief for reasons that I can only call logic (my atheist friends would need fainting couches if they heard me say that but there it is) supported by personal gnosis and I felt 'claimed' as a Heathen. I joined a local kindred run by my friend and felt very much at home.

Unfortunately the kindred suffered several set backs, most damaging being the then partner, now husband, of our de facto leader having severe health issues and so it's faded rather a lot and I've also moved away. I'm back here to see if I can't kick off the spiritual apathy I've been feeling lately so it's good to recount how and why I became a heathen.
      You can find some of my creative writing at http://libbyscribbles.com

Comment