Office god

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Office god

I am working on living my heathenry outside of my home and one of the first things I thought of was creating a little work alter on my desk in my office (I'm a receptionist and chief administrator for a small non profit). Something small with a glass of water for my ancestors and a prayer card for one of the gods. My problem: I have no idea who could be considered god of the office.

I've been thinking about Woden as he represents knowledge and wisdom, Sif as a welcomer, Frigga as keeper of the home (my work has a lot of focus on organization and formatting), but I'm sure there are others I have not thought of. Any ideas?

Re: Office god

Not that I know a whole lot about Heathenry, but I would steer clear of Frigga if she is 'keeper of the home.' The office then is not her place.

According to a simple Google search I conducted, these might be some more appropriate options for your query:

Dagur, god of the daylight.
    Var, goddess of promises and agreements
    Kvasir, god of knowledge and wisdom
    Forseti, god of justice and reconciliation

Do a bit of research and see what you come up with.
    No one tells the wind which way to blow.

Comment

JoyStar,
      I had to laugh when I saw your post. In Arratu there are gods and goddesses for everything. While driving to somewhere I once pondered which god controlled these traffic lights that kept stopping me. The name "Tielgi" came to me. It is pronounced TEE ELL Gee. I saw the connection right away. "Traffic Light God", TLG was the traffic light god. Now you have to consider that Arratu comes from the early history (along with some extrapolated prehistory) and they named a god or goddess for every invention and occurrence in their lives.