Advice for working with developing watchers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for working with developing watchers

Some of you will probably have heard of the term "watcher," but I'll explain for those who don't know the word or who have encountered this concept under another name.

A watcher, in my personal spirituality, is a being which you set a particular task (such as helping with wards, divination, certain types of spells, etc.). Sometimes the watcher is non-sentient; this type is just a network of thoughts and/or intentions and/or abilities that you've set in motion - almost like a set of code or a heuristic that, while perhaps mimicking human processes, is not itself sentient. At other times, a watcher is sentient - it's something you create or evoke and then imbue with some of your own being and/or some of the essence of a trusted deity or other guide.

So, I've been working with a watcher (as one of my warders) for several years now. It began as a construct that was given a spark of life, but which wasn't sentient and couldn't direct its own actions beyond a certain limit. But now this watcher has grown into something sentient. I don't know if it will stay with me throughout this development or take off on its own journey; I don't think it knows this about itself yet, in fact.

I just wanted to know if any of you have had an experience in which a non-sentient watcher takes on a life of its own. If so, do you have any recommendations for how to proceed in the best manner possible? I've never encountered this particular situation before, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    OO

Book of Spirals is my author site.
    The Sentient Hillside is my blog.
    Spiral Tree is an ezine for pagans I co-founded.

Re: Advice for working with developing watchers