Too Much Energy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Too Much Energy?

Before I begin, I should say that I am devoted to the Goddess Selene. It was She who answered my call for help, and set my feet upon a new path of understanding. I serve her with all of my heart.

So, suffice to say, I am new to Paganism.

Now to the meat of the thread. I love candles. There’s just something inherently magical about them. When sparked by fire, they create light, warmth, and the perfect setting for meditation, or just relaxation. Being in a meditative and relaxed state is conducive to the practice of magic, or so I have learned.

Some, in an effort to fine tune their craft, use cards, pans filled with water, mirrors, or crystals to attune themselves to what is beyond their immediate senses. I have tried a number of these (I have yet to make use of the Tarot, though I am interested), and they’ve all given me fascinating insights into the ebb and flow of energies around my body. I seem to have the most success, however, when I use nothing. While I am not one to shrug off really neat accessories to help me enter into a meditative state in order to open my mind to the universe around me, I seem to have no trouble at all accessing that plane. There is one slight problem, however: I can’t control the flow of my energy. Not yet.

When I open myself to the surrounding environment, it comes flooding in. At the same time, my energy immediately begins pouring out into the void. I’ve had candles lit (I’d rather not bang into my dresser while meditating), and they’ll start fluttering like they’re in a high wind, and I promise you not a breath of air (aside from my own) is in the room. The incense smoke rising into the air changes direction, and begins to surround me.