Difficult time with a dear friends point of veiw on holidays

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Difficult time with a dear friends point of veiw on holidays

Im a student at a private christian college. I have come here for a two reasons, 1) to learn about this faith and 2) very small classes. My largest class has had over 30 students counting myself. Its been rather nice.

I have even made afew very close friends. One is a bible major, he and i get along great ! another friend of mine is a history major. He and i have had some great talks and still do. When my history friend and i jump on the topic of faith, we tend to talk about the christians incorporating pagan symbols, holidays and all of that good stuff into their faith. When we talk about modern holidays he still calms that christmas and easter are stand alone holidays and have nothing to do with the pagan faith...This is very untrue, and i have given facts, books, and even history channel links to him over this topic. His main point is that the names of the holidays make them Godly days. Never mind what they are made of or whats going on during the time of celebration. I do not see how the change of names turns the days from pagan to godly ?

I have showed him The Wheel of The Year, i have given him books on Yule and Ostara. But cant reach him. He will give me everything else Imbolc, Beltane, Midsummer, Lughnasadh, Mabon, Samhain. But Christmas and easter have nothing to do with the pagan faith ?

I do not know what else to say or to show him and it comes up everytime we have a drink. We do not fight over it...but at the same time its almost like he likes to bring the topic up just to say "check mate" one more time.

Re: Difficult time with a dear friends point of veiw on holidays

Firstly, some things you just have to agree to disagree on.