Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is a doctorate degee by the School and Church of Wicca legal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is a doctorate degee by the School and Church of Wicca legal?

During my quest of knowledge I completed a doctorate degree in ancient religions with the School and Church of Wicaa in the mid 90's. I received a certificate. I know it is illegal to say its a medical degree, but with SCW recognized as a religion is it legal to use my name with ph.d on it to use in my field of studies and books I will be writing?

Re: Is a doctorate degee by the School and Church of Wicca legal?

Doubtful. If its not an accredited college, then I wouldn't consider a legit Ph.D.
    Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of HistoryPagan Devotionals, because the wind and the rain is our Bible
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by duncan1745 View Post
      During my quest of knowledge I completed a doctorate degree in ancient religions with the School and Church of Wicaa in the mid 90's. I received a certificate. I know it is illegal to say its a medical degree, but with SCW recognized as a religion is it legal to use my name with ph.d on it to use in my field of studies and books I will be writing?
      Is this the school?

Comment

It is not a nonsecular school, but religious since the federal government approved Wicca as a religion around 1968. It is a religious degree. You can not say it is a medical degree but it is religious. It will not count in the school educational system, but in its religious field it is. The School and Church of Wicca was founded by the Frosts. The Frosts petitioned the government to recognize Wicca as a religion.

Comment

It will probably only be recognized by institutions that have a personal affiliation with the school. I believe that's how non accredited schools in christianity work as well.

Comment

Is it legal? Errrr, maybe...