Norse Rituals?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Norse Rituals?

I'm fairly new to Germanic Neopaganism and I have yet to meet anyone else who shares my beliefs. I've purchased a few books about practicing this branch of paganism, but very few of the daily rituals seem feasible (particularly since I'm not old enough to drink nor do I own a drinking horn lol). Does anyone have any daily rituals they could share with me? Or any advice about practicing this in the modern world for that matter.

Re: Norse Rituals?

As far as me and rituals go, I'm very fast and loose with them. I've found, in my experiences (which obviously will vary from anyone else's), that for the most part the gods don't care so much for huge, elaborate goings-on, as long as your heart is in the right place when you do whatever it is that you do.

Most mornings I will simply do a blind draw of a rune and take a moment, usually in the shower, to contemplate the message contained in that rune, as well as give a little prayer to whomever the rune is connected to, and to whomever the day is connected to. Other than that, I take a swing of mead on Wednesdays for Odin, giving him a bit of recognition. I'd think they'd understand if you were to replace the mead with a bit of honey, or something along those lines.

M&H

Comment

I would have to agree with you about the elaborate goings on and such. Would you mind elaborating on the runes? I've seen a lot of different sets of them and I'm not sure which are directly related to Norse traditions and which are just pagan in general, or are all they all the same? I really appreciate your advice btw. Thank you!

Comment