Folk vs. Ceremonial vs. Celestial Magick

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Folk vs. Ceremonial vs. Celestial Magick

Could someone please explain the difference between these to me? Sorry, I'm new to this topic.

Re: Folk vs. Ceremonial vs. Celestial Magick

In short, folk magic is, I guess the easiest way to think of it would be as 'rural' or 'country' magic. It's the kind of magic used by farming and village populations in the past, involving materials and ingredients that are easily found in those settings (household or farming implements, herbs and natural materials), generally fairly basic in implementation to fit the lifestyle and education in these settings and usually aimed towards practical, material ends which make life easier for the practitioner and those around them.

Ceremonial magic is, by contrast, complex and academic, involving complicated and detailed ritual work, usually within the context of a system of regular training, education and psycho-spiritual development. While it can be practiced incidentally and for material aims, a lot of ceremonial magic is focused around facilitating spiritual growth in the magician, as well as allowing them to perceive distant planes of existence and to interact with the entities which dwell on these planes and having the eventual goal of becoming enlightened and achieving unity with the divine (henosis in greek, comparable to the eastern concept of Samadhi).

Much of folk magic has it's origins in the 'folk' traditions of rural, country dwelling populations of Europe, while ceremonial magic developed out of the mystery schools in the Mediterranean and Middle East which taught a synthesis of Egyptian, Greek and to a lesser extent Eastern philosophies and practices during the classical era.
    Last edited by Aeran; 14 Sep 2013, 22:55.

Comment