Dying well?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dying well?

I'm not sure if anyone else feels this way, but does dying well matter anymore? I want nothing more than to die a worthy death and earn a seat in Valhalla at Odin's table, but I feel that since we (Americans) are not a warrior/militaristic society this is could be difficult. I feel compelled to be in the military, but I'm not comfortable fighting and dying for this country. I don't mean to sound morbid and like I want to kill and be killed in battle, but this was important to my ancestors, so I feel that it should be to me too.

So I guess I'm asking if anyone thinks its still important today? I know that the world isn't in the dark ages and barbaric anymore, but still.

I'm pretty new to actually being a Heathen, I have a lot to learn, but I know in my blood it's right. Any input is appreciated.

Re: Dying well?

I think any death where one stood up and faced death head on is a good death. Didn't matter whether it be upon the battlefield, upon the streets as a cop or in the flames as a firefighter. I once heard the man who is shoot in the chest fighting goes to one of the halls, the one who cowered and died like a pig at the slaughter is not even in for consideration. Many times it was about dying for what they believed in yet not by standing or defending at home. The only bad death I suppose was one where your body was broken with age and you became a load stone about the neck of your society.

Yet a good death did not get you a guaranteed seat in Vahalla. Nor do any of the saga's or edda's suggest one can guide their lives to such an end as that is the domain of the Valkyrie to decide if you died a good death and were worthy of Vahalla or one of the other halls.