How many Deities are there?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How many Deities are there?

I've been on a pagan path for only three years, so I'm new at this.

My question is actually: are there really different Deities, separate entities or spirits? Or is there one Deity, and all the "Gods/Goddesses" are nothing more than different aspects of that one entity that were seen by different people?

Much like if five people look at the same panting and then tell you about it, you will get five different versions of what that panting looked like.

I find myself being able to believe either way. With The Morrigan and Hecate being from different cultures, yet so similar, that would support the "one Deity being seen by different people" theory. Yet there are Deities that have nothing in common outside of being Deities, which would support the "different Deities" theory.

What are your thoughts on this? Remember, I'm learning; so I'm interested in what everyone thinks.

Thanks in advance.

Re: How many Deities are there?

I believe that its strictly up to the person you ask. For myself- I tend to learn more towards the one large diety that we break down to smaller facets of themselves so it creates a more personal feel. But that's just my opinion. I'm sure there are others who would differ.

So I agree more with the ask five people to look at a painting theory... I think I'm always evolving

Comment

this is something my opinion changes on a lot -_- I'm leaning towards believing that every time various religions have a similar sounding god, it's because they have applied different names and interpretations to the same god. that's why, for example, the god of judaism, christianity, and islam are very similar. or why there are so many similar roman and greek gods. that kind of thing. it's people sensing the power of a god and reading them differently

Comment

All of this is personal opinion, and of course other people will have their own views.