This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Phobias

Well, after tonight's incident, I have decided to start the journey of trying to get myself over my phobia of bugs.
    And yes, I do mean phobia, not just a fear. And yes, all bugs. But only bugs.
    I'm no expert so I don't even know if I will be successful in doing this without a doctor but it is my understanding that you can use classical conditioning methods to get over a phobia. It takes time and with the severity of mine, it may take a very long time if it works at all.
    I will be starting with images, getting a treat with each one until I can handle those. Then I'll work my way to videos, being outside with them, and eventually, my worst nightmare... the insectarium. That place is like hell to me. I'm getting worked up just thinking about it.

Anyways, if anyone has ever had to get over a fear or phobia and has any tips on how to go about this or even just how to stay calm when I start to panic (as panic attacks happen), please share.

Also, prayers or good vibes or anything are appreciated.

Please do not suggest "immersion therapy". Please.

Re: Phobias

I was terrified of needles until I was into my 20s. I got my first tattoo and then I got hooked. Totally took my phobia away. I can go to the dentist, get my blood drawn every 3 months etc without any problems. I don't know if that's immersion. But it's my story on how I got over it.
    Satan is my spirit animal

Comment

I'm not over mine.... So I'll not likely be very helpful, also... Not sure I wanna get over it.... Maybe I do spiders make such pretty webs, but they have way too many legs....
      http://catcrowsnow.blogspot.com/

But they were doughnuts of darkness. Evil damned doughnuts, tainted by the spawn of darkness.... Which could obviously only be redeemed by passing through the fiery inferno of my digestive tract.
      ~Jim Butcher

Comment