This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mentor

So... I've started the process of looking for a local mentor of the spiritual variety. I've been working on developing daily devotional type work and exploring the possibility of ritual but I'm really feeling the need for some more guidance of the hands-on, local variety. Thing is, I've never done this before. Not sure how it's going to work out and I have a feeling it's not gonna be an easy process.

Anyone ever done a one-on-one mentoring type thing? Advice? How did you go about looking for someone? I'm not a huge people person... really not. So regular UU attendance just hasn't worked out, it doesn't sit right and it takes a lot out of me being about strangers so much. Don't think I'd sit well in a coven atmosphere either, my views are a little too eclectic for that. Which is why I'm looking into a one-on-one type thing but then that has risks too so... yeah. Just looking to see what kind of experiences we have in the community with this sort of thing.
    We are what we are. Nothing more, nothing less. There is good and evil among every kind of people. It's the evil among us who rule now. -Anne Bishop, Daughter of the Blood

I wondered if he could ever understand that it was a blessing, not a sin, to be graced with more than one love.
    It could be complicated; of course it could be complicated. And it opened one up to the possibility of more pain and loss.
    Still, it was a blessing I would never relinquish. Love, genuine love, was always a cause for joy.
    -Jacqueline Carey, Naamah's Curse

Service to your fellows is the root of peace.

I've never done it before, but I have been interested.

I know that a mentor can't teach you everything, and all the usual problems people have with mentors, but for me its abo it accountability. I'm really bad at making myself do stuff. I need deadlines and reminders haha. So thats why I would want a mentor.