Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which translation of the Poetic Edda is a good one?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which translation of the Poetic Edda is a good one?

I have the Prose Edda, and want to get the Poetic Edda. I saw there a couple of translations, some with better translations than others. I read that the Lee M. Hollander version is "challenging". There is the Olive Bray and Wolf Wickham version, and several others. I'm new at this, so I guess I need one that's middle ground... not too challenging, but not dumbed-down.
    śivāya vishnu rūpaya śivaḥ rūpaya vishnave
    śivasya hridayam viṣṇur viṣṇoscha hridayam śivaḥ

Re: Which translation of the Poetic Edda is a good one?

I don't own an English translation - only a Norwegian one with the original verses in it and one in Danish - so I can't give specific recommendations, but as a general recommendation I would say get more than one if you can afford it.
    The problem with translations are that they're well... translations. When you translate into a different language such as translating something in old Icelandic into modern English you face the problem that some of the words you want to translate simply don't exist so you have to find an approximation, but even the best approximation won't cover all the meanings of the original word. That's why you'll find different translation of the same text, because different translators find different aspects of the same word important.
    Warning: The above post may contain traces of sarcasm.

An apostrophe is the difference between a business that knows its shit, and a business that knows it's shit.

"Why is every object we don't understand always called a thing?" (McCoy. Star Trek: The Moive Picture)

Comment

That's a good idea about a couple of different versions. The books are not expensive at all, so that is an option. Thanks.

Comment

Here are a few, free to download: